Week 8- Art Project Plan

Hello again!

Week 8, what a time to be alive. Today was spent looking back on the past week and our lesson plan we started to create. We went full force into Ideate with mandalas.

It was interesting to find that there were some members of our group that did not know what a mandala is. Mandala’s are easy to find in most adult coloring books, tattoos, rugs and paintings. When I showed a picture of mandalas to the rest of my group, they all had the ah-ha moment of realization.

Looking back on this, I was able to understand more clearly how important language and vocabulary is in Art. My instructor has been very persistent in pushing us to use our art glossary in order to talk about art, but I never saw the need to until this moment. It made me think about the necessity of using correct language, instead of the mish mash language we use to describe concrete concepts.

anyways,

Back to our time working with Ideate. We were on a good track choosing our route of where we wanted this lesson to go. Overall, this process of trying to choose one idea was very difficult. With four group members, each of us have our own ideas and ways to look at this lesson plan. We spent most of the time going back and forth trying to find a concrete plan, but we were constantly changing.

What I found to be really cool in this situation was how we were able to bring all of our ideas together to form an incredibly awesome lesson plan. Collaboration was definitely needed in this situation.

 

If you’re wondering where the perfect, pretty, amazing mandala came from at the top of this page, yours truly made it. I’m awesome, I know.
Will be framing it and selling for a cafeteria wrap with an iced coffee. 

Weekly Readings:

Creative Development Pg 181-199

This reading focuses around one central question, “How do we grow the creative capacity of an entire school staff to enable the potential of a transformation curriculum in a large, public elementary school?” I think this was an interesting reading and it applied quite well to what my group went through today with the ideate portion of design thinking. We needed to work together to reach the same end goal. We all had great ideas that were creative, but they were all different. This had made us butt heads a little bit. Going back to the question of how to grow the entire staff’s creative capacity is hard to answer. With so many different learners, it could be a struggle to find the end goal.

Creative Development Chapter 8

This chapter focuses on art forms that can be introduced to the students. The focus on vocabulary weirdly also ties in with what happened in class today with my group. (eerie!!). I will take these different techniques to teach students vocabulary into my future classroom in hopes that I can reach every student and they can come to the same realization of correct vocabulary importance.

Weeks Link:

famous-painting-watercolor-study-featured-image Claude Monet’s Impression, Sunrise

 Too Much Water by Kaity Letwiniuk

I chose Monat’s watercolor painting because in my mess up of adding too much water to my drawing, the colors are very similar. What stands out from both paintings happens to be the outline that the watercolor seemed to create. As the watercolor spreads out, it has to stop somewhere, and you can see this by the change in value.

 

See ya’ll next week where we will be testing our lesson plan on another group!